Because they never spoke about it

This blog is the record of a journey to fill in the blanks.

I can already see from other blogs, posts, threads, forums (or is that fora?) that this is a routine trek. It starts with a box of papers, an executor opening a long lost file, an anxious grandchild suddenly fascinated with the questions that they never thought to ask.

My task begins with a conversation.

“My grandfather flew Wellingtons in North Africa. But that’s about all I know. He never spoke about it to me.”

“Did he kill anyone?”

“I guess that’s possible. I don’t know.”

“It’s pretty common. The ones who killed people don’t usually want to talk about it.”

Leave a Reply

